9th International OTEC Symposium

The 9th International OTEC Symposium took place in Houston May 4-5, 2023 at Greentown Labs and online. Hosted by Excipio Energy, the event was a successful post-pandemic return to annual sharing and discussion on OTEC, SWAC, LTTD, and Deep Ocean Water Use.

Roughly 140 people participated in-person or online, with speakers from the USA, Japan, India, South Korea, Brazil, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, China, Malaysia, the Netherlands, and beyond.

Group Photo of Onsite Participants (Afternoon Day 1)

This was also the first OTEC Symposium with organizational support from the Ocean Thermal Energy Association, with the Secretary General MCing the event.

The full program can be found on the event website and archive here: http://otecsymposium.com

During the reception on day 1 of the event, the 2023 Uehara Prize was presented to Dr. Miguel Angel Alatorre Mendieta of Mexico.

Professor Alatorre has been instrumental in raising awareness and developing OTEC in Central America. He spearheaded a successful 8th International OTEC Symposia despite a worldwide pandemic, and also oversaw the establishment of Central America’s first OTEC lab.

Presentation of the 2023 Uehara Prize

We will update further as the presentation recordings and materials are archived.

About the Uehara Prize

The Uehara Prize is presented by the OTEA in memory of Professor Haruo Uehara, known as the “father of Japanese OTEC,” and inventor of the Uehara Cycle. He passed August 11, 2017.

In 1994, Professor Uehara invented the “Uehara Cycle,” an adaptation of the Kalina Cycle to lessen the load for condensers by extraction of vapor from the turbine.

The OTEA Awards Committee solicits nominees and after evaluation makes a proposal to the OTEA ExCo. The ExCo, on behalf of the entire OTEA votes to confirm the selected nominee.